ACM Logo ACM Logo

TLDI 2011

The Sixth ACM SIGPLAN Workshop on

Types in Language Design and Implementation


Austin, Texas, USA

Tuesday, January 25, 2011

To be held in conjunction with POPL 2011



Welcome to TLDI 2011

The role of types and proofs in all aspects of language design, compiler construction, and software development has expanded greatly in recent years. Type systems, type analyses, and formal deduction have led to new concepts in compilation techniques for modern programming languages, verification of safety and security properties of programs, program transformation and optimization, and many other areas. In light of this expanding role of types, the Sixth ACM SIGPLAN Workshop on Types in Language Design and Implementation (TLDI 2011) aims to bring together researchers from around the globe to share exciting new ideas and results in this area. This year's workshop is the ninth in a series of international workshops, originating in 1997 as the Workshop on Types in Compilation (TIC).


To register for TLDI 2011, follow the link from the POPL 2011 web page.

Workshop Program

Session 1: Invited Talk (9:30 - 10:30)

Type Design Patterns for Computer Mathematics
Georges Gonthier (Microsoft Research, Cambridge)

Break (10:30-11:00)

Session 2 (11:00-12:30)

Singleton: A General-Purpose Dependently-Typed Assembly Language
Simon Winwood and Manuel Chakravarty

A Type and Effect System for Deadlock Avoidance in Low-Level Languages
Prodromos Gerakios, Nikolaos Papaspyrou and Konstantinos Sagonas

Extended Alias Type System using Separating Implication
Toshiyuki Maeda, Haruki Sato and Akinori Yonezawa

Lunch (12:30-14:30)

Session 3: Invited Talk (14:30-15:30)

Type Safety from the Ground Up
Chris Hawblitzel (Microsoft Research, Redmond)

Break (15:30-16:00)

Session 4 (16:00-17:30)

AuraConf: A Unified Approach to Authorization and Confidentiality
Jeffrey Vaughan

Information Flow Enforcement in Monadic Libraries
Dominique Devriese and Frank Piessens

The Essence of Monotonic State
Alexandre Pilkiewicz and François Pottier

Important Dates

Submission deadline October 11, 2010 (Monday), 21:00 Samoa-Apia Time
Notification November 8, 2010 (Monday)
Final versions due November 22, 2010 (Monday)
Workshop January 25, 2011 (Tuesday)

General Chair:

Stephanie Weirich
University of Pennsylvania
sweirich at cis dot upenn dot edu


Program Chair:


Derek Dreyer
Max Planck Institute for Software Systems (MPI-SWS)
dreyer at mpi-sws dot org


Program Committee: 

Thorsten Altenkirch University of Nottingham
Fritz Henglein University of Copenhagen
Michael Hicks University of Maryland, College Park
Limin Jia Carnegie Mellon University
Mark Jones Portland State University
Neel Krishnaswami Microsoft Research, Cambridge
Paul-André Melliès CNRS & Université Paris Diderot
Aleks Nanevski IMDEA Software, Madrid
Benjamin Pierce University of Pennsylvania
Tachio Terauchi Tohoku University
Sam Tobin-Hochstadt Northeastern University


Steering Committee: 

Amal Ahmed Indiana University
Nick Benton Microsoft Research, Cambridge
Derek Dreyer MPI-SWS
Robert Harper Carnegie Mellon University (chair)
Andrew Kennedy Microsoft Research, Cambridge
Francois Pottier INRIA Paris-Rocquencourt
Zhong Shao Yale University
Stephanie Weirich University of Pennsylvania